Six years ago, my grandpa was diagnosed with lung cancer. It was a difficult time in not only my life, but my entire family’s life as well. As time grew, his disease grew and took over his body. Watching him suffer was not easy on any of us, especially because there was nothing we could do to help him. The doctors did their best to make him comfortable and lessen his pain with remedies and treatments. Many of these treatments temporarily alleviated him, but not to the extent that we had hoped for. One approach that the doctors recommended was prescribing him medical marijuana. Out of all of the medications he was prescribed, medical marijuana was the most effective in treating his pain. Although it did not cure his illness, it relieved his suffering and gave my family and me a sense of relief. This lead me to believe that marijuana should be legalized across the country, as it is more beneficial than not.

